Select Page

New Agutaya

The article above details the history and establishment of Barangay New Agutaya, a local administrative division in San Vicente, Palawan, Philippines.
Barangay New Agutaya, originally known as “Nasalugan”, a term stemming from the Cuyunon word “saleg”, meaning “floor”, was formerly a sitio, or a small rural community, of Barangay Alimanguan. It was the southernmost barangay of the Municipality of Taytay. Its early settlement was spearheaded by Mr. Bartolome Adion and his family, along with his brother-in-law, Mr. Jose Favillaran, who were the first inhabitants.
As time progressed, groups of people from the municipality of Old Agutaya started migrating to Nasalugan, eventually leading to the area being predominantly occupied by Agutaynens. This influx of people from Old Agutaya fostered a sense of community, which sparked the idea of establishing their own barrio or village. They submitted a petition to the then Municipal Mayor of Taytay, Domingo Mercado, who subsequently granted their request. Following the approval, Mr. Bartolome Adion was chosen as the first Barangay Captain, marking the formal establishment of their community.
In a subsequent Barangay meeting, a motion was put forth by Melquiades Pablico to rename the area to “New Agutaya” as a tribute to the majority Agutaynen population who hailed from the municipality of Agutaya. The proposal was unanimously approved, marking the official name change. Since then, this locale has been known as New Agutaya.
On June 21, 1969, the creation of the municipality of San Vicente led to the formal inclusion of New Agutaya as one of its barangays. This inclusion was facilitated by the Municipality of Taytay, which waived its rights over New Agutaya along with Barangay’s Binga and Alimanguan, thus allowing their transition into the jurisdiction of San Vicente.
Today, Barangay New Agutaya serves as a significant administrative unit within the larger San Vicente municipality, carrying its own rich history and culture, symbolizing the power of community, initiative, and identity.